Acapella (and instrumental?) help please!

Tutorials to help you get the best out of your mixing progies. Please feel free to ask any mixing/editing/production problem questions here.
1 star User

Acapella (and instrumental?) help please!

Post Fri Nov 06, 2015 5:44 am

Hi, I recently downloaded VirtualDJ 7 and made an instrumental https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cmW1Ju6CA10 and an acapella https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=49WiQU_ysa8 of Something In My House by Dead Or Alive using the quick vocal effect thing. I guess the instrumental is ok but you can still hear a bit of the vocals. The acapella, well... the vocals are a bit more prominent but you can still hear the instruments. I have no idea how to improve it and I've tried audacity but it wouldn't work :1undecided: can anyone please help? And is there anyway the instrumental can be improved as well or nah? I'm not a professional in any of this lol. Here's the original song if it helps https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ZKNzs35GP8.

In my previous thread on stix chat, someone said that I should do the mashup with this song and Thriller myself (originally meant for Halloween but I guess most Halloween hits weren't released on Halloween right? lol) but I'll need mixcraft and I don't know which version to get... as well as the acapella of SIMH being more of an acapella than it is lol

2 Star User

Re: Acapella (and instrumental?) help please!

Post Fri Nov 06, 2015 7:26 am

You don't have to get mixcraft their are a lot of other great mashup software that people use. Firth made that video 5 years ago and now I think he uses Ableton Live.
Brewing up some of your favorite morning mixes.

Post Fri Nov 06, 2015 9:46 am

First off, most of us (and by which I mean almost everyone) use acapellas/instrumentals that already exist and don't make our own, purely because it turns out not great, as you have just found.